Meeting of the International Spin Physics Committee

October 20, 2021 Minutes (by H. Gao)

ISPC members in attendance: H. Gao (Chair), K. Aulenbacher, F. Bradamante, D. Crabb, N. d'Hose, H. En'yo, P. Lenisa, B-Q. Ma, A. Martin, R. Milner, P. Mulder, M. Poelker, N. Saito, E. Steffens, H. Stroeher, O. Teryaev, W. Vogelsang Guests: Y. Goto, F. Rathmann, T. Uesaka, A. Vossen,

Report on Spin 2021 - Yuji Goto

Yuji Goto reported on Spin 2021. The symposium was held during the week of Oct 18-22, 2021, in Matsue, Japan in a hybrid form with a total number of ~330 participants including ~20 attending in person. There were 200 contributions in the form of plenary and parallel talks. About 40 students attended this symposium. The plenary program consisted of 10 sessions covering a diverse range of topics in spin physics. There were 40 parallel sessions in total with a maximum number of 5 sessions at the same time. The proceedings will be published online through the JPS Conference Proceedings <u>https://journals.jps.jp/page/jpscp/about</u>. ISPC is greatly appreciative of the outstanding effort of Yuji Goto-san and Tomohiro Uesaka-san and the entire local organizing committee in hosting the Spin 2021 successfully under the challenging global pandemic situation.

Spin 2023 proposal – A. Vossen

Based on the rotation pattern of the Spin Symposium sites in recent years, the next natural site will be in North America. Anselm Vossen and Tom Mehen from Duke University presented a proposal to host the 25th Spin Symposium at Duke/Durham during September 24-29, 2023, following a pre-proposal presented to ISPC in the fall of 2020. Two conference venue options were presented: Washington Duke Inn (WDI) and Conference Center (near Duke Campus), and Durham Conference Center (Downtown Durham). Both options are attractive and will meet the symposium need well with the WDI option being significantly more expensive (~33% more) than the Downtown Durham option. The proposal was accepted by the ISPC.

PSTP 2022 - F. Rathmann

Frank Rathmann from Juelich and Kurt Aulenbacher from Mainz proposed to host the PSTP 2022 workshop at Helmholtz-Institute Mainz (HIM) on the campus of JGU Mainz with tentative dates of September 26 to October 2, 2022. This proposal followed a pre-proposal discussed at ISPC 2020 meeting. The premises of HIM offer all facilities needed for workshops with up to 100 participants. The expected participants for PSTP 2022 will be 50-80. With no room rent to pay, the use of the HIM will significantly reduce the cost of the workshop. Proceedings will be published online only. The proposal was accepted by the ISPC.

Report from the Membership Nominating Committee - H. Gao

The following members whose term will expire on Dec 31, 2021: E. Aschenauer, K. Aulenbacher, B.-Q. Ma, N. Makins, A.Martin, A. Milstein, M. Poelker, O. Teryaev, W. Vogelsang.

The membership nominating committee (H. Gao, A. Martin, B.-Q. Ma, R. Milner) proposed the following to ISPC:

- 1. K. Aulenbacher and W. Vogelsang will have served one term by December 31, 2021, and therefore can be nominated for a 2nd term. The committee recommends unanimously that their terms be extended.
- The committee recommends unanimously the following eight people be invited to serve as new members of ISPC starting January 1, 2022: Constantia Alexandrou (U. Cyprus): lattice gauge theorist, nucleon spin Vincenzo Barone (Universita' del Piemonte Orientale and INFN Torino), transverse spin physics Renee Fatemi (U. Kentucky): STAR RHIC-spin, EIC spin physics Alexey Guskov (JINR, SPD), responsible of SPD at NICA Christopher Keith (Jefferson Lab), leader of polarized target group Klaus Kirch (PSI and ETH Zurich, Switzerland): nEDM experiment at PSI Zuo-tang Liang (Shandong University, Qingdao, China), hadron spin structure and nuclear spin physics Xiaochao Zheng (University of Virginia), Nucleon Spin, PV electron scattering

The proposal was accepted by the ISPC.

Membership of the International Committee for Spin Physics Symposia (ISPC)

1 January 2019 to 31 December 2021

Voting Members:

H. Gao – Duke (Chair) K. Aulenbacher (Mainz) BQ. Ma – Peking A. Milstein – Novosibirsk H. Stroeher – Juelich	R. Milner – MIT (Past-Chair) H. En'yo (RIKEN) N. Makins – Illinois M. Poelker – Jlab O. Teryaev – Dubna	E. Aschenauer - BNL P. Lenisa – Ferrara (Chair-Elect) A. Martin – Trieste N. Saito – KEK W. Vogelsang – Tübingen
N. D'Hose – Saclay	P. Mulders – VU	
Honorary Members:		
F. Bradamante – Trieste	D.G. Crabb – Virginia	G. Fidecaro – CERN
A. Masaike – Kyoto Soergel – Heidelberg	C.Y. Prescott – SLAC E. Steffens – Erlangen	T. Roser – BNL V. W.T.H. van Oers – Manitoba

Members whose terms expire on 31 December 2021:

E. Aschenauer, K. Aulenbacher, B.-Q. Ma, N. Makins, A. Martin, A. Milstein, M. Poelker, O. Teryaev, W. Vogelsang

Members whose terms expire on 31 December 2023: R. Milner (Chair/ Past-Chair), N. D'Hose, H. En'yo, P. Mulders, N. Saito, H. Stroeher

Members whose terms expire on 31 December 2027: H. Gao (Chair/ Past-Chair)

Members whose terms expire on 31 December 2031: P. Lenisa (Chair-Elect / Chair / Past-Chair)

Prepared by Erhard Steffens September 2018 Updated by Haiyan Gao, September 2020 and October 2021

